Connecticut Wing - NER-CT-001
Main Content

Spaatz Award Recipients

The General Carl A. Spaatz Award Recipients in Connecticut Wing

The General Carl A. Spaatz Award is Civil Air Patrol's highest cadet award and honor. The award honors General Carl A. Spaatz, who was the first Chief of Staff of the United States Air Force and the second National Commander of the Civil Air Patrol.

 The Spaatz Award may be awarded to cadets who "successfully complete all phases of the CAP cadet program and the General Carl A. Spaatz Award examination" consisting of a comprehensive leadership and aerospace education written examination, a graded essay and a physical fitness test. To attain the rank of Cadet Colonel, cadets must devote an average of 5 years of service, complete 19 successive rank examinations, pass three promotion boards, a timed comprehensive exam on leadership theory and CAP regulations, a timed, comprehensive aerospace exam, pass a timed essay on a question of perennial moral debate where you must argue for/against an issue on moral grounds/making appeals to reason, and pass the United States Air Force Academy Candidate Fitness Assessment. Only three attempts are authorized.

​The Spaatz Award is arguably the most difficult honor to earn in the CAP cadet program.

 Cadets earning Spaatz Award are also promoted to Cadet Colonel, the highest grade obtainable in the cadet program. Upon reaching the age of 21, cadet colonels are eligible to transfer to the Civil Air Patrol Officer program with appointment to the grade of Captain. Cadet Colonels who voluntarily transfer to the officer program between the ages of 18 and 21 receive the grade senior flight officer.   Only 0.5% of cadets will ever achieve this award. As of May 2021, forty-two cadets in the Connecticut Wing have earned this award.  They are…


Last Edited 31 MAR 22

© 2024 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.